The Time is Far Spent

13 Apr
Biking along!

Biking along!

I feel like the anthem of my week has been the hymn “The Time is Far Spent”. In honor of this, I’m going to include the lyrics as part of my letter today, and comment on how they applied to me this week.

VERSE 1:
The time is far spent; there is little remaining
To publish glad tidings by sea and by land.
Then hasten, ye heralds; go forward proclaiming:
Repent, for the kingdom of heaven’s at hand.

The time grows ever shorter. This is my next to last letter! I feel like a broken record player in saying that it just doesn’t feel real yet. The little black name-tag that I snap on my shirt over my heart each day is as much a part of me as my right hand. But you don’t really need a name-tag to be a missionary thankfully. I have truly felt the “glad tidings” of the gospel, both this week and every week before! We invited our investigator Sister Williams to be baptized on Wednesday… and she accepted!! She told us that it was the first time that she’s ever felt good about setting a baptism date before. She and her husband are taking a trip to Salt Lake City soon, so that she can, as she told us, “pick out my own set of scriptures”. She is wonderful! Now I just need to figure out how to travel back up here for the baptism…. #RMproblems
VERSE 2:
Shrink not from your duty, however unpleasant,
But follow the Savior, your pattern and friend.
Our little afflictions, tho painful at present,
Ere long, with the righteous, in glory will end.

The Savior truly is our greatest example and friend. I have felt His loving support and embrace with me in an exceptional manner this week. We try to serve as He did and love as He did each day. This week, one of our investigators missed their appointment, which they don’t usually do. We were supposed to meet them at the church, so we hung around a bit and then decided that we’d better do something else. We had the idea to go get her cookies and drop them off at her house. We acted on the prompting, and when we dropped off the cookies, our investigator told us that she had gotten off work really late and had been having a really hard day, and the cookies were just what she needed. We didn’t teach a lesson during that hour, but we did make sure that someone felt loved.

VERSE 3:
What, tho, if the favor of Ahman possessing,
This world’s bitter hate you are called to endure?
The angels are waiting to crown you with blessings!
Go forward, be faithful, the promise is sure.

Tracting. Oh tracting. People are just… interesting. Their “bitter hate” tends be more amusing to us than hurtful. 🙂 And the people in Worland always think that we are Jehovah’s Witnesses… I’ve never gotten that comment so much until I got here.

VERSE 4:
Be fixed in your purpose, for Satan will try you;
The weight of your calling he perfectly knows.
Your path may be thorny, but Jesus is nigh you;
His arm is sufficient, tho demons oppose.

As a mission, we have recitations that we say each morning. One of which is the “My Purpose” statement from Preach My Gospel, which is: My purpose is to invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. Over and over this week, I have felt confirmations of my purpose and my calling. This is truly the work of the Lord, and I feel so privileged to be a part of it. Sister Wankier and I did a musical number at church on Sunday, and we sang a duet with a member accompanying us. There’s something about music that just always goes straight to my heart- I felt the Spirit so strongly and felt an overwhelming love for my Savior. This week, Satan has worked on me hard, but I know that I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.

I love you all. I feel the strengthen power of your prayers, and I in turn pray for the safety and happiness of each of you daily. I know that prayer is real, and that God honors His promises. This work is real! And I love it with all my soul.

Leave a Reply

