Rain and rumors of rain

9 Feb

Well, I’m starting to believe that the groundhog was wrong last week- we are definitely enjoying some springtime weather right now! It’s been in the 50s quite a few days this week, and positively gorgeous. It actually feels a lot like Oregon/Washington weather- lots of rain and clouds and milder temperatures. No complaints from the missionaries though!

Do you all remember Mary and Jessica Rider that we taught and baptized back in November? They’ve been pretty good about still coming to church in 4th ward, and recently they’ve been much better about keeping their appointments with us. So we went to teach them one of their new members lessons this past Tuesday, and their mom Pauline sat in on the lesson like she does occasionally. Over the past few weeks, her interest has been growing and growing, and on Tuesday we started actually teaching her! She is so ready for the gospel, and she set a baptism date for March 7th. Her biggest obstacle will be overcoming smoking, but all things are possible through Christ. (Philippians 4:13)

Our recent convert Brett had a much better week this past week. Unfortunately, he moved on Saturday! We knew he would be moving soon, but weren’t sure when. Thankfully we got to see him off Saturday morning before he headed down to Tuscon, Arizona to live with his brother. I think this will be a really good move for him, but it was still sad to see him leave. We’re gonna get him set up with the ward and missionaries down there, so he should be set. Karen, another recent convert, taught her very first lesson in gospel principles on Sunday!! Ahh, it was wonderful. We met with her the day before, Saturday, and helped her map out a lesson plan and give her ideas. Our other recent convert, Eboni, is still doing great too- we’ve been doing weekly new member lessons and her testimony is definitely growing a lot.

On Wednesday and Thursday, we had another sister missionary with us, Sister Bouchard, while she was waiting for her new trainee to arrive. Sister Bouchard and I are basically the same person- it’s awesome. We discussed what the titles of our mission memoirs would be: “Constantly Covered in Cat Hair”, and “A Series of Awkward Events”. (It’s funny because it’s true). I’m accompanying her for a musical number next week, so we got to practice that which was very helpful. With transfers, we got all new elders in the area that we share with. Their names are Elder Buntrock, Lancaster, and Cheney. It’s unusual for them to be “tripled-in” like that, but they seem to be adjusting well and seem like they’ll be fun to work with.

This week was seriously a revelatory week for me. As I look over my journal entries, it seems like the Spirit taught me new things everyday. I gained a new appreciation for prayer and scripture study yet again. I realized that they don’t change the actual circumstances of my day, but they change me and my attitude. Another revelation happened during the sacrament on Sunday. I was reflecting on my week and how the Savior had played a role, and my mind was consistently drawn back to 2 Corinthians 12:9-10, which says: “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.”

As I was reflecting on those verses, the Holy Ghost taught me that Christ doesn’t always take away our weaknesses permanently, but rather they are taken away only when Christ is with us. So if I were to reject Christ, my weaknesses would return in fullness again. But so long as I have Christ in my life, He will strengthen and uplift me. I also realized that I need to be more grateful for my weaknesses/shortcomings/trials, because in them Christ’s power is manifest and made perfect!

My random story of the week is that we ate dinner with a member from the YSA ward who has a pet duck. Yes, a pet duck named Hermes. And it wears a diaper. Hahaha. I asked her if she just especially loved ducks or what, and she told me that she didn’t even really want a pet, but the duck imprinted on her and thinks that she’s it’s mother, so she feels obligated to keep it.

That’s all I have this week! I love you all lots. Have a fantastic week!!!

Leave a Reply

