It’s Halloween already??

27 Oct

IMG_6186

Happy Halloween everyone!

Last preparation day was pretty fun. Our zone walked over to the park near the stake center and we played ultimate Frisbee, and then sand volleyball. It would have been more fun except it was so HOT! Haha, it was probably no more than 78 degrees, but we were all miserable from the heat. All I know is that I am going to die when I come back to the Oklahoma summer. On Tuesday, the heat broke and it just rained all day. I actually used the umbrella I brought with me on my mission for the very first time- yea! We had a busy night of appointments and lessons, and we got a new baptismal date squared away for Mary and Jessie finally.

This week I had an opportunity to play the piano for several different events, and it just made me so happy. I cannot express my total and complete love and gratitude for music. It has a way of inviting the Spirit into my life unlike anything else. I got to play for zone training on Wednesday, both prelude and accompaniment for a musical number, and also for another musical number at the first ward sisters’ baptism. I also got a new CD this week of the “Lamb of God” by Rob Gardner… If you haven’t heard it, you need to look it up! My companion can attest to the fact that I have listened to it non-stop since it arrived.

Wednesday night, we met up with our investigator Karen for a lesson. She’d had a rough couple of days with work and life, and Sister Randall and I both received the prompting at the same time that she just needed to feel loved that night. So we cancelled the lesson and took a walk with her over to Big Dipper Ice Cream and just talked for over an hour. I truly have a testimony that missionary work is more than just teaching lessons- it’s about teaching people. And sometimes those people need assurance and love more than a sit down lesson. We actually ended up covering the lesson during our talk, and it was overall a really positive way to spend the night and let her know that she is loved. Also, not gonna lie, Karen is one of my best friends, and we were totally meant to meet. I really feel like she is one of the main reasons I am in Missoula. We had exchanges from Thursday to Saturday, but this time it was a “trio exchange”, meaning our Sister Training Leader came with us. Sister Steck has been my Sister Training Leader nearly my entire mission- I just follow her to whatever zone she’s in! Haha. It’s a very good thing though, because I love and admire her so much.

On Thursday, we had a lesson with one of our kind-of investigators. Brad is the brother of one of our recent converts, Bryan. We try to visit Bryan twice a week because he’s not super solid, but sometimes he isn’t there so we end up talking to Brad instead. For context, when the sisters were first meeting with Bryan, Brad was straight up antagonistic about the church or any religion in general. His heart has slowly been softening though, and particularly in the past month. Last week, we had a super bold lesson with him. It was actually one of the most Spirit-guided lessons I’ve had on my mission I think. His big complaint about religion was that he feels like people turn to it out of desperation for a fake hope of a better world. I waited a minute before I responded… “Brad, now don’t get offended. But don’t you turn to alcohol for the same reason?”. He told us the following lesson that that had cut him to the quick. He couldn’t stop thinking about the lesson all night, and while he was laying in bed, he heard something inside him say, “you need to stop drinking”. Since that moment, he’s been cutting back everyday and he said that he can already feel the difference in his alertness and happiness. We texted him after our Thursday lesson, and he responded: “love you all. thank you. you are the light.” It’s amazing what the Spirit can do with a person’s heart when they are willing and humble.

Ok, here’s my funny story of the week. 🙂 Now don’t get all freaked out about it, haha. So we are teaching some people right now that were transferred to us by the 2nd ward sisters because the people moved into the 4th ward boundaries. The 2nd ward sisters called us Friday night and said, “Hey… do you sisters have your Hepatitis B shots?”. We were like, “umm, yeah?”. “Ok, good… do your members have their’s that come with you?”. We answered, “ummm, why??” They told us that one of the girls we’re teaching might have Hepatitis B, but as long as we’ve had our shots and don’t touch her blood we’ll be fine. They don’t want a lot of people to know though. The sisters then said, “So if you could just non-nonchalantly ask your member if they have their Hepatitis B shot, that’d be great!”. We answered, “How do you ask that nonchalantly?!?!?!”. Needless to say, we finally got it sorted out, but we just died laughing because the mission puts you in the most awkward situations.

Well, that’s about it for this week! Love you all and miss you.

Leave a Reply

