What a week!

17 Dec

Beautiful Wyoming!

Beautiful Wyoming!


This week ended up being a lot crazier than I thought, but so good too. Let’s see, where to begin… Last Sunday night we found out that my companion and I would both be staying in Meeteetse for the transfer, so we were pretty excited. Little did we know that they would switch it up on us! On Wednesday around noon, the APs called us and told us that there would be a change in the transfer. My companion was getting transferred to Billings East Zone, and I would be staying in Meeteetse with a new companion! The rumor mill in the mission is that visa-waiters usually get called up to Billings when they get their visa. So we’re hoping and praying that that was the reason! President Mecham doesn’t tell the visa-waiting missionary until like two days before they step on the plane, just so they don’t get distracted. So hopefully we’ll find out soon if she’s headed to Brazil!

With my new companion!

With my new companion!


On Thursday, we drove the hour and a half to Lovell for the transfer, and I got to meet my new companion. She’s from Frankfurt, GERMANY! She’s actually a Temple Square sister, and she’s been assigned to our mission for the three month “outbound” part of her mission. Because of the way Temple Square’s transfers and ours’ line up, she spent two weeks in Billings in a trio, but now she’s down here in Meeteetse with me. She’s been out on her mission for about 6 months. Her English is spectacular, and we get along great! I am so excited for this upcoming transfer. We have a lot of goals that we want to accomplish, and I really feel like I am going to grow a lot as a missionary with her as my companion. It’s kind of a funny situation because she’s finishing training me on being a missionary, but I’m training her on how to be a proselyting missionary!

So this week, I really realized how much I look forward to our study time in the morning! Reading the Book of Mormon is such a sure-fire way to bring the Spirit. I really have noticed a difference in my attitude and faith since I have been actively studying the scriptures on my mission. I always feel uplifted and inspired after study, even if I didn’t wake up in the morning that way, haha. I don’t think I’ve told y’all yet, but when I got to the field, President Mecham challenged all of the new missionaries to read the Book of Mormon and mark all the references to Christ. I’ve been doing that challenge everyday during personal study, and it’s incredible! I’m almost done with 3 Nephi, so I ought to be done with the Book of Mormon by the end of the year. I have a goal to read the entire standard works during 2014 – I’m so excited!

Yesterday was so great. We had a ton of people come to church, which was awesome. Then in the afternoon, we had an appointment with a recently reactivated convert member and his non-member daughter. We had met her before, but this was our first time to actually teach her. She was so prepared for the Gospel, and the Spirit was so strong! We invited her to be baptized, and she accepted and is so excited for it! It is amazing to see the Spirit work in people’s lives. I feel so privileged to be a missionary and share the Lord’s word with people!

Sunday night our ward held their annual live Nativity for the community. I’d say we had around 120 people there – such a cool experience! It was “western themed”, so it was narrated by a cowboy and everything. They had sheep, goats, horses, a mule, and even a donkey! We invited all the Cody missionaries to come down, and we missionaries helped out with all the refreshments, holding doors, etc. I ended up accompanying the Primary when they sang after the program, so that was a fun surprise!

I got to pet the donkey!

I got to pet the donkey!


Hearing about the passing of Kurtis last week was hard, but as a missionary I feel so blessed to get to share the message of eternal families with everyone that I meet. It is through Christ that each of us can find comfort and solace, and I know that more than ever now. What a marvelous blessing the Atonement is!

One Response to “What a week!”

  1. Peter and Linda Gorshe December 22, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    Sister Hoggan, we received your beautiful Christmas message. Thank you for thinking of us. We enjoy hearing about your mission (especially in my old hunting grounds) and will continue to pray for you and your success. May the Lord bless you for your goodness and your willingness to serve Him. MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

Leave a Reply

